Firefighter training: Learning about chemistry and how flames work

Inuvik has a contingent of 40 volunteer firefighters and one paid chief. I recently attended one day of a three-weekend training session.

In this unit, the firefighters learned about heat and fire.

2 responses to “Firefighter training: Learning about chemistry and how flames work

  1. … am curious, Philippe … what did you take away from your day of training?

  2. It was an interesting day for me; I learned that 90% of firefighters in Canada are volunteers. It made me think about my job as a reporter. When something happens, I am there only to take pictures and get facts:

    Meanwhile, other people help people directly.

    I definitely have a lot of respect for firefighters across Canada.

Leave a Reply

