Winter cycling, part one: The setup

I love using a bicycle to get around Inuvik. It’s cheap and easy since everything is at most ten minutes away.

The question of course, is what happens in winter?

This winter — meaning, from now until May —-  I have a challenge to keep using my bicycle. I picked this “cruiser” style bike at a garage sale earlier this year. It’s very heavy but it seems sturdy.

I think having only one gear will be helpful since it won’t jam with ice.  No pad brakes to jam up either….just pedal backwards to stop.

I store the bicycle indoors at work and at home, so it’s never locked outside for more an an hour maximum. (Let’s say if I am shopping at North Mart.)

So far, the results have been great! Inuvik has a very dry cold and I am very impressed by the grip of my winter tires.

Here is the setup I’ll be using this winter:

1. Big luggage rack in the front (for carrying briefcase, bags, boxes, etc.)
2. Basket in the back with blue, waterproof bag (contains: chain for locking, pump, spare tubes, wrenches, etc. All the tools to fix a flat.)
3. Winter tires! Got two “ice spikers” from Mountain Equipment Co-Op which have metal cleats. They’re expensive but work better than I imagined.

I’ll be posting updates and photos now and then.

…and of course, I am proud to wear a helmet!
 

5 responses to “Winter cycling, part one: The setup

  1. Hi, 🙂
    You are a brave man; 🙂 the idea is great but what about lights? You are going to need something bright in your coat, and in your boots maybe to make sure cars will see you in the dark…
    BTW Thank You for the pictures, I love them, I lived there for a year a half a while ago, and I feel like if a little of me stayed there when I left. 🙂

  2. Elaine Sanchioni

    Thanks you so much for keeing folks like me in touch with a place thats near and dear to my heart

  3. do you decorate your helmet with anoything?? feathers fur etc?? I do that to mine and its REALLY cool…….Makes a great bike statement….

  4. MURRAY KELLY DISTRICT CHIEF,MUSKOKA LAKES F.D.

    YOU LOOK REALLY “COOL”–EXCUSE THE PUN. YOU HAVE A NEW FIRE CHIEF–HIS NAME IS JIM–HE WAS MY CHIEF FOR FIVE YEARS–YOU WILL LIKE HIM.
    DISTRICT CHIEF–STATION # 1–FOOTES BAY–ONTARIO

  5. Not that you got a grip on the tires,
    Get a grip on the lights.
    Make a Christmas tree
    On wheels!

Leave a Reply

