Behold, the ‘Eskimo Donut’

Here is a common food at community feasts, which everyone calls an Eskimo donut. It’s an unflavoured doughnut which looks like the dialing wheel on a rotary phone.

5 responses to “Behold, the ‘Eskimo Donut’

  1. Oh, those are tasty! I miss them.

  2. Make me miss the tastes of home! mmm!

  3. whats the recipe please send it to me

  4. please send me the recipe, I miss them and no one knows how to make them down here in the lower 48

  5. I went to Fort McPherson/Inuvik/Tuktoyuktuk 1.5 years ago and I got to help make these for the Muskrat Jamboree in Inuvik. I have the ingredients, but I’m not sure how they are put together. 9 cups of flour, 1 cup of sugar, 1 Tablespoon of salt, 4 cups of warm water (Warning: not too hot or else you’ll kill the yeast.) 1Tablespoon of Sugar, 3 Tablespoons of active dry yeast, and 2/3 cups of oil. Sorry, but that’s all that I know. These are really good and taste some what like Mennonite Roll Kuken. 🙂

Leave a Reply

