Tropicana films commercial in Inuvik: Brings own sun!


The Tropicana fruit juice company recently paid to film a commercial in Inuvik.

The shoot coincided with the Sunrise Festival, and the production brought along something amazing: A globe that the Inuvik Drum drescribed as “a 15,000 pound helium balloon equipped with 40,000 to 70,000 watts of electricity.”

Amazingly, this bulb was kept floating and intermittently lit for about two days. The device is from France and is apparently unique in the world.

The globe was used to simulate the sun reappearing over Inuvik in the winter.

Apparently it cost about $100 a minute to keep lit, and the commercial is estimated to have cost almost $1 million. 

26 responses to “Tropicana films commercial in Inuvik: Brings own sun!

  1. I don’t know if I have any more of a hankering for orange juice, but that’s still pretty impressive.

    Just out of curiousity what would a bottle of Tropicana run you in Inuvik?

  2. That thing is awesome. When can we expect to see the actual commercial?

  3. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  4. What a waste of energy for a commercial.

  5. Vanessa Montgomery

    Absolutly fantastic commercial . Great marketing strategy to play it while we all sat with such emotion and pride during the Olympic games up here in Canada ! I dont know how much more emotional advertisements I can take .It goes to show how everyone is opening their hearts and I hope to see that commercial go on air plus more from you for a very very long time ! Well done !!! Your Canadian Friend ..

  6. what is the name of the song in this commercial? i really like it

  7. the great escape by patrick watson

  8. The song is “The Great Escape” by Montreal-based Canadian singer-songwriter Patrick Watson.

  9. Beatrice Stewart

    Awesome !!!

  10. That is one of the best commercials I have ever seen, and it is not a waste of energy. I think it is money well spent. Really flattering for a big company like that to shoot a commercial in a place like Inuvik, the community must of been really proud…hats off to you!!

  11. In the so called “CRAZY” world we live in….it is GREAT to see something “POSITIVE” something that made a child, Man or Woman SMILE, if only for a moment, or a day, just to bring a SMILE. and that, In it self made me appreciate, what i have and what i can DO, to make someone smile. Because if you are “SMILING” it would make it hard to CRY…..so thank you “Tropicana”

  12. my name is Shawn and I am from Prince Edward Island and was very touched by the Tropicana Commercial. I have no illusions about economics, business and commercials and I understand a company has a product to sell. That being said I commend Tropicana on taking on the expense and effort of such an undertaking when I am sure there would have been much easier and less costly commercials to shoot. At the same time I know I would never be able to stand such long periods of no or little sun. My feeling while watching the commercial was here is a gift from Tropicana for a STRONG COMMUNITY that sticks together thru the cold and the isolation even when the sun retreats. Personally I thank them for the commercial. I was so deeply touched by it even though I am not from your town. Everyone absolutely everyone I spoke with that has seen the commercial was glad they did. Do people there know that it only showed your strength as a community to the world. Please TOM FINNIS (see comment above) don’t feel Cynical, Cynical is easy, be proud to be part of a strong community, I am proud to be part of a country that has such strong people. Please email me if you like at boilerfryguy2002@hotmail.com

  13. I lived in Inuvik for about 20 years, and that commercial is awsome and true. There is no real sunrise for about 2 months, hence the Sunrise Festival. When I saw this commercial it brought a smile to my face. Bravo Tropicana for going all that way to bring a smile to the residents of Inuvik. Well done.

  14. This is one heart-warming and innovative commercial in the excessively glitzy, over-the-top- hip, meaningless junk produced by most advertisers. I am a new Canadian of African origin and I am very touched by the reflection of a very positive image of Native communities. This goes a long way in helping instill a sense of pride, respect and appreciation for indigenous culture.
    And ofcourse what an awesome voice to carry a beautiful melody. And thank you for giving out details of the song/singer. Much appreciated

  15. Beautiful but sad. A pure waste of energy and precious resources that we could used to share with another human in an impoverished setting. Alas we use it to increase profits. Woe is humanity. Conceit is the tomorrow that we have earned.

  16. I knew some of the people that lived there and witnessed this. My assumption was that the real story would be that they can inconvenienced the community and it was not appreciated. In fact it sounds like the middle-age to younger crowd enjoyed it though some of the elders felt it was blasphemous to bring out the sun during the long nighttime period as its ‘supposed’ to be nighttime then, something to do with the cycle of the spirits.

  17. I loooove this commercial. This morning I was putting on my makeup in the bathroom and heard it come on…. I actually stopped what I was doing to watch it LOL

  18. I have had to suffer through this commercial twice a day since January since Breakfast Television airs it 2 times between 6 & 7 everyday. Just to hear the first few notes of that horrible music makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, you can’t even understand the lyrics near the end of the clip. You’ve more than gotten your money out of this ad. Please stop our torture and dump this ad already!

    • Cathy's worst enemy.

      I’d rather that than hear that damn McDonalds corporate mind-numbing $$$ jingle…Hats off to Tropicana for putting money where there mouth is.

  19. I love this song, and was touched by the commercial. I think it’s beautifully shot, and just is gorgeous.

    But I’m thinking more about why they did this commercial? Is Tropicana/Pepsicola often in the North for industrial reasons at all? Mining, resource extraction? Are they bringing in juice as socio-economic offset? Does anybody know?

    Thanks!

  20. Pingback: Planted» Blog Archive » inuvik pictures

  21. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us
    have created some nice practices and we are looking to exchange methods with others,
    be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  22. This Ads is really touchy! Great work! It came across the world to an Asian designer like me who used to live in Scandinavia countries. Hence I think I knew how it feels 🙂 And the song is just beautiful !

  23. Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my site so i got
    here to go back the prefer?.I’m attempting to in finding issues to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

