The Inuvik Sunrise festival 2008

sunfest3.jpgsun-fest-2.jpgfireworks2008.gifsunrise-festival1.jpgsunrise-crowd.jpgTonight marked Inuvik’s annual Sunrise Festival. It celebrates the return of the sun after about 30 days.About 100 people gathered near Inuvik’s golf course and watched fireworks at 7pm. There was also a large bonfire.This year marks Inuvik’s 50th anniversary so the fireworks were extra large.Remember: We can’t have fireworks for Canada Day because of 24-hour sunlight!(Little soapbox note here: Who decided to blast rap music from the speakers? I don’t think T-Pain’s “buy you a drank” was very appropriate for a family event!)

11 responses to “The Inuvik Sunrise festival 2008

  1. Thanks! It’s too bad the colours suffer when converted to Gif…maybe I am doing something wrong.

  2. Animated gifs eh…
    Brings me back. What a show, I liked it.

  3. This brings back such nice memories! My son and I were in Inuvik when the tradition of fireworks on January the 6th came to be (must’ve been mid-80’s).
    Thank you for sharing these pictures with us!

  4. Yes, it’s quite heartwarming to know this annual tradition has happened since the 1980s.

    It sure was cold on the golf course though — I was wearing a ridiculous amount of padding (ie: long johns + pyjama pants under jeans, 2 big sweaters, my parka and fur hat) and my fingers were still cold.

    That’s probably why the photos are a little shakey — even with the tripod, I was shivering while pressing the button!

    Thanks for the comments as always, Trudie and Saatvic

  5. yo! I used this for my gr. 6 project and i got a B+, thanks for the pics.

    xoxoxo,
    so happy to leave a comment,
    Jessica Critch

  6. yo! I used this for my gr. 6 project and i got a B+, thanks for the pics.

    xoxoxo,
    so happy to leave a comment,
    Jessica Critch
    miss u baby

  7. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  8. We stumbled over here different page and thought I might as well
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

