All was quiet, except for boots crunching in snow and the camera shutter.

shortest-day.jpg

I think my favourite part of living in Inuvik is the absolute silence.

If you walk outside of town, there will be moments where you can’t hear anything except natural sounds like birds or wind.

6 responses to “All was quiet, except for boots crunching in snow and the camera shutter.

  1. the absloluite SILENCE HUH???
    wel l gotta tell ya mate.
    . SILENCE is the ULTIMATE SYMPHONY!!!!!
    and i say
    GOOD FOR YOU !!!!!!!!!!
    you are giving to your soul the best sound of the universe.
    SILENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. For someone who likes silence, you sure use a lot of exclamation points 🙂

  3. This picture must be taken from almost exactly the same spot as where I took one some 20 years ago – you just managed to capture the colours so much better! Also, I think my Nikon froze up before I had made all the adjustments i would have liked to do ….

  4. Thanks Trudie! To be honest my camera does most of the work, I just press the button.

    To avoid freezeup, I keep my camera in a padded bag and I also keep the batteries in my inside coat pocket.

  5. Beautiful pic!

  6. This is like a picture I took 2 years ago. http://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=83242527&context=set-1778561&size=l
    I lived there for 16 years and moved to YK last year and the one thing I miss is the colorful Inuvik skies.

Leave a Reply

