Aviator sunglasses are not required

biscuits-1.jpg

biscuits-2.jpg

b1scuits-3.jpg

These are McCormicks pilot biscuits, which I’ve never seen outside the NWT.

They’re a staple of Northern stores and are available in Fort McPherson, Aklavik, Tuktoyaktuk, Paulatuk and other places.

They might be called biscuits, but they are just really hard squares of dry bread.

7 responses to “Aviator sunglasses are not required

  1. they USED to be called HARDTACK in the navy days of yore..[ days of YORE?? good grief did i say that ? ].
    tis friday. time for that martini:)

  2. http://www.myccr.com/SectionForums/viewtopic.php?p=112173

    HERES A LINK for the BISCUIT.
    damn dude. i DONT know you nor will I ever meet you . but your blog certainly has been an education if NOT an inspration ..
    now if I can get you to try and get those “thumbnails” to blow up to full screen then you will have ONE happy fan!!!!!!!

  3. Thanks, Saatvic! I promise I am working on the thumbnails thing.. 🙂

  4. Yeah I had never even heard of these until I came up here. I wonder if people actually like them. Thanks for cracking the box so now I know what it looks like inside!

  5. Also I have to say, are we not worried at all about the 50’s packaging? Like the Northern just dusted off some excess supply they found somewhere and decided to sell?

  6. I think they are popular because you can bring them to camps. They won’t freeze and they won’t go bad.

  7. I should mention: I like the fact that posts like these get the most comments!

Leave a Reply

